Reviews

Going on a bike and boat tour

Published on 5 August 2015 by Hilary Staples

Many cyclists come to Holland for a bike and boat tour. What is a bike and boat tour and why are these cycling holidays so popular? I went along on Boat-Bike Tours' Northern Tour to find out.

Read more »»


Amsterdam by bike maps reviewed

Published on 6 June 2015 by Hilary Staples

To get around Amsterdam by bike, there are two dedicated cycle maps available: one covers the whole of the city, the other the Amsterdam region. What's the difference between the two maps? Which map should you choose?

Read more »»


Cycling in the footsteps of Van Gogh

Published on 8 May 2015 by Hilary Staples

In celebration of the Van Gogh year 2015, we cycled the Van Gogh Cycle Route - a 335 km-long bike tour through the Dutch artist's homeland Brabant. What does this route have to offer?

Read more »»


Review of the Limes Cycle Route

Published on 18 August 2014 by Hilary Staples

Summer 2014 we cycled the Dutch section of the Limes Cycle Route which follows the northern border of the Roman Empire. How much can you still see of this Roman history? And is the guide book any use if you don't understand Dutch?

Read more »»


ANWB fietskaart series reviewed

Published on 9 April 2014 by Hilary Staples

The ANWB fietskaart series consists of 20 separate cycle maps on a scale of 1:50,000 covering the whole of Holland. We went to Drenthe to put one of these maps to the test.

Read more »»


Numbered cycle network maps

Published on 24 December 2013 by Hilary Staples

When the numbered cycle network was introduced, another type of map came on the market: the numbered cycle network map (knooppuntenkaart). How does it compare to a regular cycle map?

Read more »»


Review of the Cyclist’s Path

Published on 11 October 2013 by Hilary Staples

In June 2013 we cycled the Cyclists's Path. The only existing guide book is in Dutch. Is this a problem if you don’t understand the language? And what does the route have to offer? We decided to find out.

Read more »»